The Crown (The Selection #5) by Kiera Cass


I have to admit, I did like this one a lot more than the Heir. This one, while Eadlyn is still kind of a crap person showed more character development and while I still didn’t like her I didn’t hate her either. I enjoyed the selection part of the Heir which I think is why I liked this one much better, I liked all the boys around and how they interacted. This one also had the added interest of the Illea kid, I can’t remember his name, but it added a little more spice to the mix. Ultimately I’m happy she ended up with who she chose even though he was not my choice or favourite. It wasn’t as nice of an ending for me because of that, and I didn’t fall in love with her choice. I felt like there were a decent amount of major events in this book, including some new information about Maxons life which was kind of interesting but also kind of forced. I didn’t like the last report – nothing about it seemed realistic. I didn’t like how she was so careless about one characters feelings and just flung them aside last minute. The romance seemed rushed which made it hard to get on board with. Lots of little problems added up, but I still enjoy the world of the selection so I ultimately did enjoy the book as a whole. Just not who she ended up with… 

Rating: 3/5

I’ve also read the additional epilogue that came out, here’s my review of it:


Meh. I was hoping to hear more about Eadlyns life and how the kingdom was doing but instead we just got a fluff wedding piece.

Rating: 2/5

Follow me on Goodreads: Casey

goodreads synopsis

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined. 

One thought on “The Crown (The Selection #5) by Kiera Cass

Leave a comment