The Outsider by Stephen King

This books needs a big disclaimer: READ THE MR MERCEDES TRILOGY FIRST! IF NOT THIS BOOK WILL SPOIL THAT SERIES!!!!!

I did not know these two book series would overlap, and while I was pleasently surprised at how it did and to visit some characters I liked again, I would have been very upset had I not read the Mr. Mercedes series first. Luckily I completed it about this time last year. This book spoils the ending of the series in more than one way.

Aside from that I really enjoyed the mystery of this book. It was a real whodunit and had me guessing at how someone could be in two places at once. It had me wondering all kinds of things, and if Terry was actually guilty or not. I am a slower reader with a physical copy so I did find myself not getting though this as fast as I liked, but that wasn’t because it wasn’t interesting. I thought the plot developed well, fast enough but not so fast to miss out on things. The characters I found interesting, and most of all I found the setting to be very realistic. I can see this being a real town and these being real people. The reaction from the public was also very real – and is perhaps a warning not to put the cart before the horse.

Closer to the end when they talk about the hole, that really freaked me out since I myself hate going underground. I don’t enjoy tunnels or caves or anything like that, but yet I still have a very morbid fascination with them. Particularly the Ben McDaniel case. So while the hole wasn’t a huge part of the story it was certianly one of the more eerie parts for me.

All in all another solid book by Stephen King and I just found out they are doing a show or movie on HBO based on this book so that would be interesting to watch.

Rating: 5/5

Follow me on Goodreads

Goodreads synopsis

Goodreads winner 2018.

An unspeakable crime. A confounding investigation. At a time when the King brand has never been stronger, he has delivered one of his most unsettling and compulsively readable stories.

An eleven-year-old boy’s violated corpse is found in a town park. Eyewitnesses and fingerprints point unmistakably to one of Flint City’s most popular citizens. He is Terry Maitland, Little League coach, English teacher, husband, and father of two girls. Detective Ralph Anderson, whose son Maitland once coached, orders a quick and very public arrest. Maitland has an alibi, but Anderson and the district attorney soon add DNA evidence to go with the fingerprints and witnesses. Their case seems ironclad.

As the investigation expands and horrifying answers begin to emerge, King’s propulsive story kicks into high gear, generating strong tension and almost unbearable suspense. Terry Maitland seems like a nice guy, but is he wearing another face? When the answer comes, it will shock you as only Stephen King can. 

One thought on “The Outsider by Stephen King

Leave a comment